play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Hillington Motor Company Ltd

At Hillington Motor Company Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Hillington Motor Company Ltd

Hillington Motor Company Ltd
5
4.9

Based on 193 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    By Anonymous on 05 October 2021 | Verified purchase

    The service received from the two Scott’s at Hillingdon Motor Company was excellent. Both men went out of their way to make sure the car we bought was immaculate in every way, and went the extra mile to make sure I felt safe to drive again after a serious accident. Thank you to both of them. Would highly recommend this company in Rutherglen. I bought the car without seeing it, because I trusted them.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 06/10/21

    Trish I am so happy that your delighted with new Volvo as you said you had a very serious accident recently and in speaking to you over the phone then seeing the pictures of your car when your husband was down its remarkable that your here however thats down to the safety in these new cars. I was away when you initially paid your holding deposit, when I saw the order form and your address as to where you lived I was absolutely amazed as I spent all my youth up on the west coast and it was so lovely chatting to you reminiscing all my old memories and for you being 5 hours up the road what a small small world we live in. I look forward to revisiting. Thank you so much firstly for your business and secondly the kind honest review I am glad you put faith in us and trusted us. All the best and thanks Scott


  • 5

    EXCEPTIONAL!!!

    By stephen cooper on 28 September 2021 | Verified purchase

    Time to wake up all other car dealerships this is the way to sell a car NO pushy sales people NO pressure, what a refreshing change, Scott has been exceptional throughout knowledgeable,professional and very very patient, the whole experience has been amazing from start to finish good customer service goes a long way and I can't thank you enough!! thanks Stephen

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 28/09/21

    Stephen wow that was a completely refreshing review to receive to put my side to the first experience I had with yourself say 10 weeks ago, it started with emails from you to myself regarding the Audi TT. Having given you all the details regarding ownership and history you were happy to transfer a holding deposit to secure the TT until you could view. After a few weeks you said that you were recovering from an injury I was happy to hold it till you felt better to view and drive it...well a few weeks later you came into see it I had it MOT carried out and a service carried out. When you drove it you were delighted to proceed and asked if we could hold it slightly longer due to the further treatment, we are here to accommodate as much as we can so were happy to hold it and chatting to you and your wife was so nice and relaxed you even managed to guess my favourite car....many have tried all have failed bar you!! Last week receiving a gift from an unnamed customer a beautiful bottle of whiskey left me wondering from who...so when you were in yesterday collecting the TT and with your own plate on it and finally finding out who was so kind enough to do such a nice token. Well genuinely it was an absolute pleasure and love the fact you like the none pushy tactics and pressure, being called knowledgeable and proffesional is certainly nice too. Thanks you so much Stephen and all the best Scott.


  • 5

    Fantastic

    By ali khan on 03 September 2021 | Verified purchase

    Scott is a credit to Hillington Motors, what a guy! Thank you for your help and effort sir.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 04/09/21

    Wow Ali thank you for such a kind glowing review. You were a pleasure to deal with such a decent guy well from the first call we maybe got of on the wrong foot however when you came in and we were chatting about all aspects of life no sales chat, I know you love your cars and you said you buy between 5/6 cars a year well hopefully we will meet up, thanks again super Ali. All the best Scott


  • 5

    An all round friendly, approachable team within the business.

    By paul ross on 27 August 2021 | Verified purchase

    A 5 Star second hand car sales business I would highly recommend. They have an excellent selection of cars if you are looking for a not too old purchase. The team were very friendly and their attention to detail regarding keeping the customer happy was second to none! Overall very happy with my new car.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 27/08/21

    Paul lovely for you to describe us as being approachable and found us friendly and as I said attention to detail is always key as buying a second hand car people can be slightly apprehensive as it's a big purchase. When I first spoke to you over the phone I knew you weren't local so having just taken the BMW in it hadn't been fully valeted and pre'd. When you arrived it was nice to see that you appreciated what I had said about it just coming in. I was happy to leave it in your hands to inspect it thurely and make you a latte. When you were ready we went out a drive and having had a performance Audi I think you were suprised at the performance. When you came back there were a few things you wanted me to do and I promised these would be done for collection. When I called you the other day to let you know all was done it was a nice chat we had as you were hill walking, I know I wasn't here when you collected the car but had assured you I would call when I was back to make sure you were happy. Well all the best and it was nice chatting about offshore life and whiskey a passion all the best and I owe you a beer thanks Scott


  • 5

    Totally Delighted.

    By David M. on 23 August 2021 | Verified purchase

    My experience with this Garage was amazing. I dealt with scott the salesman his attention to detail from start to finish was superb. I’ve bought some lovely cars over the years but loved giving my business to a family run local company. I felt they appreciated my business. That I wasn’t just a number or a commission based sale. The car I bought was cracking and very well presented Scot knew the operation of it inside out. I didn’t even need to test drive. I just knew what I was buying. Scott I owe you a pint one day in Glasgow 🍺 All the best to you and your team. David M.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 24/08/21

    David it was an absolute pleasure dealing with you and your family, from the first time we spoke on the phone about the BMW 4 series GT. I know you have your own business and like us we pride ourselves on being honest and upfront attention to detail is key along with presentation and none pushy sales as cars presented right sell themselves obviously here to assist in anything along the line. Your exactly right no customer should feel like a number it's nice to have the personal touch, I think it certainly helped bribing you and your wife with a latte and your kids with a can each. Listen thank you for taking the time to write such a kind glowing review. Over the years we have done well building up decent customer service. Thank you and I'll happily go for beer with you however say a glenfiddich and you really have me thanks, Scott


  • 5

    By william campbell on 23 August 2021 | Verified purchase

    Service excellent..customer service excellent no pressure during sale and very helpfull

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 24/08/21

    Billy from the first time that you came in for a brief look round with your pal to then coming back with you wife and taking your new Mercedes out a drive. You are exactly right there should never be any pressure the type of business we run cars sell them self. As I said it had only just came into stock so when you came to collect it and it was all valeted even down to the small attention to detail new wheel caps. Thank you for your kind review and I know you pass by daily, all the best Scott


  • 5

    Friendly and efficient service

    By alasdair macleod on 03 July 2021 | Verified purchase

    The service at Hilllington Motor Company was friendly and efficient. Communication was clear, and what was promised was delivered. I would happily recommend this seller to anyone seeking premium used cars in the Greater Glasgow area.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 04/07/21

    Alasdair it was genuinely lovely meeting you and your son, I know you were down from the Isle of Lewis and being a fellow Volvo enthusiast it was so nice chatting in regard to all aspects on life. I know that you were down for a limited time and we had two Volvo's in at the same time for you to compare. The one that you decided to proceed with as I said had just came in so it was due to be valeted and anything I sell comes with a fresh MOT. Seeing your face yesterday when you were back in to collect it said it all and the fact you know how reliable the Volvo are. Thank you for taking the time to give an honest review on your experience and that you found us friendly and efficicent, I do like to deliver what I've promised thanks again and hope the Volvo serves you and your family well and anything your down pop back in, thanks Scott


  • 5

    By Anonymous on 29 June 2021 | Verified purchase

    Can't recommend Scott and Hillington Motor Company enough. He was super patient and honest with me despite not eventually being able to purchase the car. He even allowed me to place a fully refundable deposit to give some time to allow my dad to travel and see the car. I will hopefully be back sometime in the future. Thanks again Scott, was a honestly a pleasure meeting you!

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 30/06/21

    Ahmed from our first call on Sunday morning from when you wanted to see the car to when you came to our dealership on the Monday with your friend to view our Volkswagen Golf GT TDI, I know that you were both in aw at the cars that we had for sale and that you mentioned that you were a student and having just past your driving you were very eager to get on the road and get some experience driving. Your friend and yourself carry out a check on the Volkswagen and I do try to be as knowledgeable and accommodating as possible, I know it's a lot of money someone spends and you had carried out all the background checks what to look for and even you mentioned you had read all our autotrader views and the personal responces that I give as I said it goes a long way when someone takes the time and I know you liked my personal touch I wrote. I know buying a used car for anyone is a big decision and lets be honest everyone remembers there first car so was happy to spend as much time and it was great chatting and what a decent nice guy all the best an d like you said if i agree to take a deposit that is a refundable deposit so we are honest to our word, all the best and see you in the future thanks Scott


  • 5

    Fantastic Experience

    By Anonymous on 29 May 2021 | Verified purchase

    I had a fantastic experience with Hillington Motor Company. I called them on a Tuesday afternoon expressing my interest in a used 2010 Mercedes C-Class. I talked to Scott on the phone for approx. 30 mins which was very helpful. I just moved to the UK from Germany and had never bought a car here. In fact, I had never bought a car before anywhere really. Scott was very kind and provided me with a lot of information about the car and patiently answered all my questions. After our phone conversation, I made a GBP 500 deposit on the car and decided to take the train from Coventry to Glasgow on the Friday of the same week. In the meanwhile, Scott had arranged for the car to get a new MOT. When I arrived to Glasgow on Friday afternoon, Scott was well prepared and patient. Given that this was my first car purchase, I had brought a detailed checklist from a German automobile association. Scott was very understanding and accommodating. He never gave me the feeling that he just wanted to close the deal as soon as possible or anything like that. Instead he showed genuine interest in making sure that I get all the information I needed to be satisfied and happy with my eventual purchase. After inspecting the car on site, he took the time for a long test drive. I would like to emphasize that the car was in great condition. More importantly, Scott's description of the car over the phone really matched the actual condition. I really appreciate the transparency in all of our interactions. After I had decided to go ahead with the purchase, Scott and his colleagues could not have been more helpful. They helped me with setting up my tax payment for the car and also provided me with assistance when purchasing insurance for the car. Finally, they managed to get me a 12V cigarette lighter adapter such that I was able to recharge my phone on the drive back to Coventry (despite the fact that we were dangerously close to closing time at this point). On the following Monday morning, Scott reac

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 31/05/21

    Andreas reading that review on your exact experience was a pleasure, your exactly right when you first called me regarding at that time our Mercedes estate it had only just came into stock so all the pictures weren't on line and there was quite a few particular questions that you had for me, I did my best to describe the car to you as though I was buying it for myself as I pride myself on being completely honest and upfront. When you explained that you had just arrived in the UK to teach from Germany and it was a big purchase and you weren't 100% sure how you go about the process of buying a car especially over the phones as you were going completely on my description and what I could tell you. You agreed for me to send you an email for me to put everything in writing i.e a fresh MOT the car fully valeted. This deposit was based like anyone else fully refundable upon viewing the car test driving the car and seeing all the paperwork if you weren't happy in anyway. I find that your review was from the start till my follow up call a few days later described to a tee. I know the only hick up when you arrived in glasgow via train was that the taxi driver took you to the wrong garage. Your right you had all the printed paperwork from a website in german what to look for when buying a car, from checking tyres, paintwork, electrics lights, engine components down to what to look for in the paperwork too, needless to say it put my lack of German reading to a complete test. I was happy to take you that exetensive road test over various different terrains and upto speed so that you could feel at ease. When you came back I knew that you wished to facetime your dad in germany just to let him see exactly the Mercedes and everything you had saw first hand. Once you were finished you agreed to proceed with the purchase and I was more than happy to aid with helping set up the tax, registering you as the new owner and lastly helping assist with your insurance. My pet hate is when your phone dies so couldn't let you drive from Glasgow to Coventry with limited battery on your phone so I know its a minor touch but always have a spare charging socket. It was so nice chatting openly about cars, culture, football and even both our love of cheese. I hope that the mercedes stays with you as close to as long as the previous owner had it nearly 11 years. Thank you so much for the kind reviw on your experience with our garage and myself as it goes a long way and it lets people see the work that we do and priding ourselves on being honest and upfront, thanks again Scott


  • 5

    An excellent experience!

    By Anonymous on 04 May 2021 | Verified purchase

    I cannot rate my experience highly enough. From my first call, until he delivered my new car, Scott was professional, knowledgeable and attentive. I am delighted with the car and the after sales service and would definitely recommend them.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 04/05/21

    Vicki you are right from our very first phone call you were so honest and upfront what you were looking for. I do know though within a few calls it went from looking for a BMW 4x4 we had just taken back in as a trade in and explained that it was someone that we had just previously dealt with then you fancied a Bentley, Audi S6 well i think if you had it your way you'd have taken the garage. It felt so nice chatting and hope you liked it too I know you must have left like your ears were sore after every call but joking aside you felt at ease, when we first spoke and you told me your circumstances with your car in the garage and would I deliver out to you, well when you told me where you stay having grown up not so far was happy to assist with delivery and just the lovely surrounding area and bringing back so many nice family memories. Well when I arrived last thursday seeing your smile said it all and you were so nice and friendly. I am so pleased to have received such a nice message that you found me professional and knowledgeable and to me attention to detail is key so seeing your plate on it looked amazing. Glad you liked that it's not just about sales after sales is just as important and nice. All the best and thank you so much Vicki and thanks Scott