play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Hillington Motor Company Ltd

At Hillington Motor Company Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Hillington Motor Company Ltd

Hillington Motor Company Ltd

Based on 193 customer reviews

Powered by

  • 5

    Excellent experience and highly recommended

    By Anonymous on 25 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Trustful and helpful people who are standing back their word. Their rich knowledge and experience helped me to find the car I am looking for. The quality of cars they offer represents how meticulous they are in this business. Excellent experience and highly recommended! P.S: Scott is a great person! Hopefully, see you again for my next car.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 26/07/22

    Laciner I know when we first spoke over the phone you explained you had just moved to Aberdeen from Turkey and you were looking to buy a prestigious second hand car and initially it was a Porsche Boxster. Having looked into insurance you found a lovely E Class Mercedes. So I knew you were traveling from Aberdeen to Glasgow and described the car over the phone service history, type of tyres and that we freshly MOT all of our cars. Knowing it is a big purchase and having just moved to the UK trust is essential. Having spent time with your friend looking it over you were happy to leave a deposit for us to get the Mercedes in for an independent MOT and then you asked if it would be possible for the car to be transported to Aberdeen again happy to assist as we want the whole process as easy as possible for both the customer and the business. It was great when the car arrived you even were kind enough to drop my mum at the train station. Delighted to hear that you love the Mercedes and hopefully you'll have plenty enjoyable journey's. Do like the fact you found me trusting and helpful as I pride myself on honesty. Thanks for commenting on the quality of the cars and the way there presented. Glad you found me a great guy that made me smile I definitely owe you at least two whiskies. Thanks Scott

  • 5

    No complaints whatsoever

    By Lesley Crichton on 25 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Having had a particularly bad experience with Peter Vardy buying a vehicle, it was refreshing to visit a showroom and deal with a salesman where there was no pressure to buy, either a vehicle warranty or GAP insurance. Scott was very helpful and everything to do with the sale was smooth and uncomplicated, will definitely be back when buying next car

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 25/07/22

    Lesley it was so nice to chat away and your right I know the only reason you ended up at our garage was you had encountered a particularly bad experience with another shall we say bigger organization that went back on there word after you decided against a warranty and buying gap insurance. They changed the goal posts on the trade in. Certain places are more interested in numbers than actually taking the time to deal with a customer chatting to them (whether the customer buys or not they hopefully leave here thinking they were decent and honest with most importantly no HARD SALE) well thankfully that left you to come and view our X1 and take a drive then deciding to buy it. All of our cars come with an independent MOT and I know I had to replace a parking sensor all of which was delivered along with your private plate. Happy to help you or any family member in the future and thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience. Hope you and your family had a nice holiday in the BMW thanks Scott.

  • 5

    Very Happy Customer

    By Clifford Tosh on 06 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Scott was very knowledgeable about the car, there was no pressure to buy. A speaker fault was found after I purchased the car - this was very quickly resolved. The SL mercedes was presented in show room condition, so much so that a mercedes club meeting the car was much admired. I would have no hesitation in buying from this dealership again and would highly recommend them. P.S. Would recommend the hot chocolate.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 08/07/22

    Firstly Cliff thank you very much for taking the time to respond and reflect on the experience you found in dealing with myself and our business. I like that you found me knowledgeable and you are exactly right there should be no pressure to buy as we pride ourselves on the car being presented as best it should. We took this in from a repeat customer from Aberdeen and it was as described over the phone to the way you and your wife viewed it that Sunday. It was so nice chatting as we both share a love for Mercedes and I know you both were won over by the hot chocolate. Seeing your face when you came to collect it said it all and I did promise if you bought a plate I would honour it and send them out seeing the pictures you sent me just finished it. Your right you had a small issue with one of the speakers. These can happen when you least expect it however we agreed to get it from your local Mercedes dealer and put it right. I am so glad you got plenty admiration from the chaps at the Mercedes club you must have been so proud. Thanks for your kind review and any time you both pop in for a chat and even a hot chocolate thanks Scott and HMC

  • 5

    We have the car we love thanks to Hillington Motor Company...

    By Anonymous on 06 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    We had researched the vehicle we wanted for weeks and realised it was quite a specific search, and tricky to fulfil, and Hillington Motor Company had an ad for what we wanted. Dealing with Scott via email was really straightforward and when we met I found him to be a really easy guy to chat with. We did talk a lot about honesty, and this is an honest review of our experience: Ad in AutoTrader said full service history – we only got given paperwork to look at after we had paid the deposit of £500, and effectively it was when we had gone to collect the car. I queried that the paperwork was not for a full service history; I was told that Mercedes held the rest of it and it was electronic and they would share the info once I was the owner. After purchase I checked with MB and they have no service history for the car at all. So the service history, in reality, consists only of 1 full service and 1 intermediate. Ad said 2 previous owners – when we got the new V5 doc it said it was 3 previous owners. Ad said 61,000 miles but when the MOT was done the next day after we said we would buy and paid deposit, it was registered as 61,900 miles. Ad said excellent bodywork - but there are paint/stone chips on bonnet, a scraped wing-mirror, dent in boot. We did mention the wing-mirror and dent and said it wasn’t an issue; we hadn’t spotted the bonnet paint chips. First test drive was done with expired road tax and no trade plates. I queried the legality of this and was told they did have trade plates – yet these were still not used on a 2nd test drive (but a staff member drove us the second time so we were not liable). An admin fee was added when we said we would buy - when I challenged that this was not part of the advert on AutoTrader it was removed. The electrics for the rear sunroof didn’t work – this was fixed before we collected the car. We were anxious about spending so much money after finding out about these discrepancies in relation to the advert (and we didn’t know about the FSH not being correct then). I shared this anxiety of continuing with the purchase with Scott and he offered RAC 1 year cover at half price. So, all in all, Hillington Motors had the vehicle we really wanted and we perhaps didn’t check things out in detail beforehand. Perhaps we paid more than we should for a car that didn’t have a FSH or excellent body work – but we do have a car that we love and so far seems to be working well. My advice if you look to buy from here - do check everything out before you put your deposit down because unless something is seriously wrong with the car you can’t legally have the deposit back – my husband got to the point of kissing the £500 goodbye because it was less of a loss than the remaining £17,500 we still had to pay. As an aside regarding Autotrader reviews - we have had to ask Scott for a link to write this review - you can't do one without the permission of the business - so perhaps really bad reviews don't get on to Autotrader for any business.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 09/07/22

    Sometimes customers come to view cars and decide against them, occasionally during a potential sale as a business we decide against selling a particular customer a car, it's never anything personal, it just sometimes through years of experience dealing with customers you can spot potential future problems Although I didn't deal with you and your partner personally, I was close enough to listen, and later express my concerns about selling the car to you both, due to the way you reacted to everything Scott said, everything he said, you treated with scepticism, and this review is indicative of your mistrusting character Really glad to learn you love the car and that you found Scott easy to deal with , that's the positive out the way😀 Anyone can write a review on auto trader, auto trader will confirm that, they're not part of a conspiracy to control reviews which you seem to be suggesting. SO UNTRUE " ONLY GIVEN PAPERWORK AFTER YOU PAID DEPOSIT" That simply isn't true, You spent between 2-3 hours on our site inspecting the car and looking over paperwork, I remember it vividly, you had asked for the tv in the reception to be turned off to allow you to concentrate on it. in that paperwork were the service history, v5 and any other paperwork we had for the vehicle, so you were given as much time as you needed in the conditions requested to peruse that paperwork and satisfy yourself about the vehicle. You then left our premises, went home to think it over, before transferring the deposit later that evening. SO AGAIN, TOTAL FABRICATION " Ad said 2 previous keepers, then you new v5 and it was 3 previous" simple arithmetic... you become new keeper, so former keeper becomes a previous keeper, making it 3 previous , AGAIN YOUR MISUNDERSANDING " Ad said 61k when in fact it was 61900" that was pointed out to you at the point of inspection and pre deposit, it was explained that we had used the car for a period, again you accepted that explanation and conceded it was 61900 in advert it wouldn't have halted your enquiry " ad said excellent bodywork" it is, it's a 11-year-old vehicle and most certainly is in excellent condition .. the sunroof not working, you asked to have it fixed, it was fixed, lost at why You would have a problem with that.. DONT GET WHY THATS A NEGITIVE "Ad said full-service history" ad said low mileage example with service history, our add is written in capitals Anxious about spending that kind of money after finding out about these discrepancies, there were no discrepancies and having chatted with Scott and read your emails, at no point do you express any concern, only thing was you phoned to accuse Scott of being dishonest about the cover he promised you through Rac , you had researched the warranty and came to conclusion Scott was telling you lies, turned out you were wrong about that to, you do have the warranty with the cover Scott spoke about? SO AGAIN, YOUR IMMEDIATE CONCLUSION ON WARRANTY WAS IT WAS A LIE. To sum up, glad you love the car, it was a beautiful car, disappointed in your review obliviously, not because its negative in a whole, because it has no truth to it.... Ps... your trade in... massive oil leak you failed to mention...

  • 5

    By thomas rankine on 04 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Excellent service from the moment I set foot on the premises. Scott the salesman was very friendly and knowledgeable on the car I went to view. Went into fine detail about car and after I agreed to buy he went above and beyond with setting up the transfer documents for my personal registration plate and dealing with all the relevant paperwork. Would recommend this garage to friends and would have n problem retin the future if the right car came up.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 04/07/22

    Tommy reading the review you wrote on buying your BMW 640 was an absolute delight as it really goes such a long way when someone takes the time to reflect on the process from initially coming to view/call/email to the process of getting the car ready and MOTd and like you, the majority of our customers have private plates so we are able to make these and deal with all the paperwork side of things. I like that you found me friendly and knowledgeable. I know when you first came to see me you were looking at our BMW and another elsewhere, so I believe pushy sales doesn't work happy to let you see it then drive it. I couldn't take your trade in. Now as I said it is in my interest to make the process as easy as possible for both parties but the deal has to be right for us too. I was happy to assist with everything regarding that and the buying of your new plate which was more than happy to put on it today. Happy to help any time Tommy and I know you'll always now pop by for a coffee and a chat about football and golf. Thanks for this honest review Scott

  • 5

    By calum walker on 03 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Great experience everyone was really friendly and helpful

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 04/07/22

    Calum it was a pleasure dealing with you and your dad. Delighted that the BMW exceeded what you had hoped for as I know it was originally another BMW you came into see however when you saw the one you went for and yesterday seeing your face with it all ready said it all. I know you'll be buying alot of cars over the years so hopefully we do business again and glad you found us friendly and helpful, thanks again and your Ciders are awaiting collection thanks Scott

  • 5


    By ali nizami on 02 July 2022 | Verified purchase

    Excellent Service. Reliable, Very honest and no pressure. Was Such a wonderful experience dealing with Scott. Right from the word go to end of sale.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 03/07/22

    Ali thank you for taking the time to comment and reflect on the experience you found with our business and dealing with me. I know when you were in last Sunday you pointed out a few things you would like me to rectify on the Mercedes ML. Now I know we had never dealt with each other however as you said you and you family have bought lots of cars over the years from garages in Glasgow. So when you were happy to leave a deposit subject to me rectifying these issues. I always pride myself on honesty and being upfront. When you were in yesterday I pointed out what I had agreed to do. You are exactly right there should be no pressure as people know what they are looking for i.e spec, history, condition. It was nice to receive this review and happy to help in the future whether its yourself or family thanks again, Scott.

  • 5

    Good service, painless transaction

    By steven murray on 15 June 2022 | Verified purchase

    Excellent service. Non pushy salesmen who were both helpful and great at keeping in touch. Very happy with the vehicle and service provided.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 17/06/22

    Steve from our initial call on the Friday morning to you coming in that afternoon to view the Bronze BMW X3 to collecting your new car the other day it was a pleasure to deal with you and seeing your reaction upon collecting it having been all valeted and freshly MOTd with your private plate your face said it all. You were honest and decent and I know it was a complete out the blue purchase as it was unexpected due to someone crashing into your Hyundai. Well I am so glad you found us non pushy as that is the way we pride ourselves thats the way a business should be run and as you said I like to keep someone upto date. All the best with your new BMW and anytime pop by for a coffee, thanks again Steve. Scott

  • 5

    BMW 118i great purchase!!

    By david roxburgh on 12 June 2022 | Verified purchase

    Scott has literally restored my faith in a used car salesman. From the first phone call on Sunday to travelling from Newcastle the following Saturday to get the car Scott was very informative through the whole process of the mot and service of the car before I came to see it. Great to be greeted with a welcoming hand shake, and shaking the hand of my wife is also something that I liked. The car on arrival was exactly as described and after a relaxed test drive knew the car was for me. As a fellow business owner, Scott has very similar morals to how I deal with my customers which is refreshing to see! Very relaxed and easy purchase, would not hesitate to buy a car again from Hillington motor company. Loving my new BMW mate thanks. Keep up the good work 👍

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 13/06/22

    Dave it is so kind and thoughtful for you to take the time to express the delight that you had in the purchase of your BMW 1 series. Your exactly right you emailed me last Saturday night and I called you the following morning to discuss the BMW and the potential purchase after a good chat about the car, I had taken it in as a trade in which I told you everything about the car as in business if your honest you know yourself it goes a long way. We had never met and I urged you as you being in Newcastle and me being in Glasgow to look at the type of cars we sell and like this our autotrader reviews as I always put a personal touch to each one as everyone is unique. I agreed to a fully refundable deposit subject to viewing/driving the car. You put trust in me to transfer this. I know you have a busy schedule so it would be the following weekend you would come up. Your right it was nice to meet and shake your hand and meet your wife. I think the hot chocolate won her over and glad you liked the small touch of a hand shake. It is refreshing that I restored your faith in car sales and car dealers. Morals and honesty go such a long way and hopefully one day when you and your wife are back up in Glasgow you'll allow me to buy you both a drink. All the best with the new BMW and the new house, glad you liked the relaxed atmosphere. Thanks Scott

  • 5

    We highly recommend this company for excellent service especially Scott.

    By Anonymous on 27 May 2022 | Verified purchase

    First class in all areas during before, during and after we purchased the used car. I have bought many a used car in my 52 years driving and can honestly say Hillington Motor Company out classes all previous used car companies.

    Reply from Hillington Motor Company Ltd on 28/05/22

    Sam it really is appreciated you taking the time to write this review based on the experience you found with us as a business and me in dealing with you and your wife from when you initially came in last Saturday to test driving your new Land Rover Freelander to doing the deal and coming in to collect it seeing both you and your wifes face said it all and as promised a nice bottle as I know you both have a nice trip to bute planned so hopefully you can toast the new car and hopefully your grandsons enjoy getting taken plenty adventures in the new wheels. I like that you mentioned you have been driving 52 years and you think we out classed them all thats a nice touch and very much appreciated. All the best Sam thanks Scott.

‹ Prev Next ›